On weatherfrogs, snow in deserts and eggplants


Lil’ update bout Cali n all…

Panorama shot of San Francisco

Two weeks back I arrived safely at San Francisco International Airport, took the wrong train into the city for about three times, finally took the right train, arrived where I was supposed to arrive and then fell asleep. And since, a lot of stuff happened. I also slept a lot. But while I didn’t I was running through a colourful haze of experiences, emotions, evolutions and eggplants. Though I haven’t really eaten any eggplants yet. But I though of doing so a lot.

After some foggy and rainy days in San Francisco, I went down to LA with a couple of people to admire the artificiality in Hollywood and more rain in Venice. Yes, you heard me. Rain. The entire first week. Even in places where ‘it never rains’ according to biased weather frogs and most likely fox news (whom I generally associate with inaccurate information). For all I knew up until that point, California was a place where it ALWAYS rained. But then, finally, I was proved wrong. At wanting to take the bus back to Davis, my mysterious temporary home, people told me that the ride might be cancelled. Because it was snowing. In the Mojave Desert. SNOWING! IN THE DESERT!

🙂

But while ranting about the weather I won’t keep from you my dear reader, that I had a wonderful time so far. And at arriving in Davis the rain was compensated by a circular rainbow around the sun. I decided to take that as sign from the universe that an awesome time awaited me. And then I stepped out of the bus in Davis and noticed that this town smelled real good. I decided to also take this as a sign from the universe that an awesome time awaited me. So, for all I knew, an awesome time awaited me.

And indeed. So far, everything was pretty awesome… My couchsurfing host, the entire campus of UC Davis, that tree in the picture, the people I met, the bike I got, the place I found, the eggplants (which I still didn’t eat, but I’m planning to. Really!!!), the avocados (of which I ate a bunch), the burritos (which are roughly arm-sized so I could never even finish one) and  this entire, incredibly relaxed and wonderful Californian lifestyle.

Right now, I’m back in San Francisco but planning to go back to Davis in the evening. Just let me tell you this…California is beautiful! Really, really beautiful. You folks in Amsterdam should come and visit me right now 🙂

One thought on “On weatherfrogs, snow in deserts and eggplants

Leave a Reply

